On Sharing Lots of Finished Sewing… Before the Washi Dress

After finishing my Washi Dress the other day, I knew that I wanted to share some of my modifications and observations, in addition to the dress itself.  There are so many ways to share online, and I seem to have found slightly different communities in a number of different venues, so when I want to share something more universally, I come back to this blog.  Evidently, that doesn’t happen very often!  😉

Finishing the Washi (and perhaps because it’s the end of the summer), I decided to look at the other sewing projects I’ve finished in the last few months.  I’ve shared most of these on Instagram (@katinkaknits), so it was pretty easy to count them, and I’m stunned that the total comes to 15 since the beginning of April, including the Washi.  So before I talk about that dress, here’s a little summary of the other projects that have passed through my sewing machine this spring and summer.

Some of the projects were small and quick and easy…

20130815SmallSewingProjectFotorCollage

1. A checkbook cover to replace my old one.  (Pattern:  rebeccamaedesigns.com Simple Checkbook Cover tutorial,  Fabric:  Moda, Paris Flea Market Map, & Moda, pb&j Basket)

2.  A necktie for my nephew.  (Pattern:  purlbee.com Molly’s Sketchbook: Father’s Day Tie, Fabric: Liberty of London, Bloomsbury Leonard, & Robert Kaufman Kona Cotton)

3.  Napkins for a July 4th hostess gift.  (Pattern:  Improvised, Fabric:  Liberty of London, Lifestyle Stile Collection Lowke; Moda, Happy Go Lucky Skip; Moda, Flats Diamond Rings; & Moda, Mama Said Sew Lazy Daisy)

4.  A flannel pillowcase for a friend in Europe.  (Pattern:  Pillow Cases by Valori Wells (modified), Fabric:  Andover, Savannah Bop Leaves Flannel; Andover, Savannah Bop Circles Flannel; & Andover, Savannah Bop Rhino Flannel.)

I also made 4 bags…

20130709 SewingProject 6 Fotor Collage

… all of which were gifts.

1.  A tote for my sister.  (Pattern:  QuiltingDaily.com Winslow Market Tote designed by Kathy Mack (modified), Fabric:  Kokka, Stamped Cheater Primary; Kokka, Stamped Circle Flowers;  Yuwa Suzuko Koseki, French Big Dot; & Liberty of London, Bloomsbury Leonard)

2.  A Patchwork bag for a friend.  (Pattern:  Market Bag from Simple Stitches:  Sewing by Cheryl Owen, Fabric:  Free Spirit, Felicity Miller Charleston Farmhouse Plumberry; Free Spirit, Shelburne Falls Circle Square; & Westminster Fabrics, Kaffe Fassett Studio Clover Dots)

3.  A Day Bag for another friend.  (Pattern:  Grand Revival, Emma Day Bag, Fabric:  Robert Kaufman, Essex Linen Cotton; Moda, Paris Flea Market Map, & Moda, pb&j Basket)

4.  A Shopping Bag for my vintage-loving brother.  (Pattern:  BurdaStyle.com Charlie Reusable Grocery Bag #BS017, Fabric:  Kokka, Ruby Star Rotary.)

Then I finished and/or altered some garments that I’d started during the last few years…  (yes, I did say, “years!”  I like to let my projects age, gracefully!  😉  )

20130717 SewingProject 5 Fotor Collage

1.  A fluorescent vest for my cyclist sister.  (Pattern:  Kwik Sew 2897 (out-of-print), Fabric:  Fluorescent Yellow Ripstop Nylon from my fabric stash; & Cloud9 Fabrics, Nursery Flannel Crumbs)

2. A circle top that I made for myself a year or so ago.  It was too large, so I took in the side seams.  (Pattern:  McCall’s 6510, Fabric:  Someone will know it, but I didn’t write down what it was besides the content: 100% Pima Cotton.)

3. A button front skirt for myself.  (Pattern:  Butterick 5649, Fabric:  Supplex from my fabric stash.)

4. A fitted, princess seam dress for myself.  (Pattern:  Vogue 8648, Fabric:  Alexander Henry, Sheer Orchid & Robert Kaufman, Kona Cotton.)

5. A gored skirt for myself.  (Pattern:  McCall’s 5056 (modified to use a contrasting color for the gores), Fabric:  Alexander Henry, Gray Foam Dasha Floral & Robert Kaufman, Kona Cotton.)

*I forgot to mention that my dressmaker’s dummy is a little larger than I am… just saying!  :)*

Oh, and finally, I whipped up a wee dress for a new baby…

BethanysLittleDress

Pattern:  made-by-rae.com Little Geranium Dress, Fabric:  Michael Miller, Farmer’s Market Petal Party; & Robert Kaufman Kona Cotton.

Until I started reviewing these projects, I was feeling somewhat unproductive!  Perhaps my perspective was a little skewed, so I guess I’ve learned that maybe it’s a good take stock once in a while, so I’m not quite so hard on myself!  I have to express my gratitude to Mama Said Sew for hosting Community Sewing every week.  Planning to have something to work on during that gathering of kindred spirits every Wednesday, definitely motivates me to keep moving forward with my myriad projects!

With that I’ll sign off, until I get back to you with the Washi Dress!

~ by katinkaknits on August 16, 2013.

2 Responses to “On Sharing Lots of Finished Sewing… Before the Washi Dress”

  1. Oh my – so much wondeful sewing in so few months! Glad takings tock has helped you realise how productive you have been!

Leave a Reply

 
