On Bullies…

This isn’t a knitting or otherwise crafting related post, and is a bit of a strange topic for returning to blogging after several months.  I have been knitting and sewing and concentrating on finishing languishing projects.  I’ve also re-entered the world of fitness as I attempt to regain my strength, balance, and stamina after being a couch potato for too long.

In the last few weeks, I have, however, been concentrating on doing a little civic duty by petitioning for a local issue that is very important to me.  In the process of doing so, I witnessed one of my friends, neighbors and fellow petitioners being bullied by one of our City Council members.  This led me to do some research about bullies…  and adult bullies, in particular.

I was reminded that when I started middle school, I was very briefly bullied by another girl in my class.  That didn’t last very long and in the grand scheme of my life, I don’t feel as if it was a very traumatic experience for me.  I was new in town and perhaps that particular girl-bully was threatened by me in some way.  In any case, I don’t feel any need to contact her or confront her all these years later.  There were far bigger bullies in my life, but that’s off the topic of this post.

In my research on adult bullies, I came across a very good post on the topic at divinecaroline.com.  The article, by Angela Neik, is appropriately titled, “Adult Bullies.”  As I read the piece, I kept thinking I would find pertinent passages to quote here, but the entire post is applicable to the situation I witnessed over the weekend.  So I urge you to take a look for yourself.

~ by katinkaknits on April 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
